Author Topic: CB750F1 v K series Crankcases  (Read 688 times)

Offline timbo750f1

• View Profile
CB750F1 v K series Crankcases
« on: May 13, 2017, 05:52:49 PM »
Hi. I'm a newbie so hope I do this correctly! I have just purchased a 1977 CB750F1 as a restoration project. When trying to set the timing I noticed that one of the lugs for the points backplate screw was broken. It's integral with the lower crankcase. I could try to get a repair done but was thinking it might be cheaper to get a used lower crankcase. There are quite a few out there but they are K series or F2's. I was wondering what, if any, differences there are between the F1 lower crankcase and say a K6 or F2? I know the F1 was the first to have a rear disc brake and someone said this meant a slight change in the case, but I don't know. Anyone able to enlighten me?

Offline hairygit

• SOHC Jedi
    • View Profile
Re: CB750F1 v K series Crankcases
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2017, 06:23:48 PM »
You cannot replace just the bottom half, they are very accurately machined as matched pairs. Trying to mix and match will lead to much expense, aggro and heartbreak. Either get yours repaired, or buy a replacement pair. Welcome by the way, and good choice of bike, the best looking of the 750's.

Sent from my X6pro using Tapatalk

If it's got tits or wheels, it's hassle, if it's got both, RUN!!!

Offline Trigger

• Grogu
  • Engines built on reputation, not advertising.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2017, 09:24:46 AM »
This is a cheap repair to do, you just have to find a very experienced alloy welder. I charge £25 to £50 for this type of weld, drill and tap. This will give you some idea as to cost.

Offline JamesH

• SOHC Jedi
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2017, 08:47:37 PM »
Hi Timbo. Trig and Hairy are spot on. Find a good welder to effect the repair and best of all it's unseen and MUCH easier than removing the engine, stripping and rebuilding...

Offline timbo750f1

• View Profile