Author Topic: cb550 first attempt - restore and modernise  (Read 3732 times)

Offline aled

• View Profile
cb550 first attempt - restore and modernise
« on: July 22, 2017, 08:34:56 AM »
Thought i would share my build with you and seek some much needed help and advice as i progress with my build. first a little background on myself and the bike, by trade i am carpenter from south wales and have no prior mechanical knowledge besides maybe putting an air filter on my first car and changing the alloys when i was 17, as for the bike it is a 1977 cb550 which i purchased for a fairly reasonable price in December 2016. My main priority when looking for a honda was that it was running , which this one was, BUT barley, after bringing the bike home i think i was able to fire it up maybe twice after countless attempts.

After a closer inspection and giving the bike a well needed clean it was obvious that the engine and bike were not in the best condition, anywhere there was a gasket, there was a leak. Not sure what to do and after a few months on debating if i should find a mechanic to carry out the work or attempt it myself, i decided i would attempt to rebuild the top-end myself, i knocked up a quick bench for the bike so it could be easier to work on and to have as much space as possible when not working on the bike in my garage.

Before i begin any cosmetic work or touch the frame my goal is to make sure that the engine is running as good as possible (to my skill at least) seeing as this, in my opinion is the most important part of the bike.

below are a few pictures of the bike before and during the project.

Offline Clunker

• SOHC Member
    • View Profile
Re: cb550 first attempt - restore and modernise
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2017, 08:51:21 AM »