Author Topic: For the machinists amongst us!  (Read 384 times)

Offline Orcade-Ian

• SOHC Master
    • View Profile
    • Older Vehicle Web
For the machinists amongst us!
« on: April 13, 2024, 12:51:45 PM »
Just a quick note to tell you of a workaround.  I needed to reface a very badly pitted exhaust valve from a Fairbanks Morse stationary engine - 7/16" diameter.  I didn't want to use a 3 jaw as I knew it would chatter (slightly worn jaws) but only had a 12mm 5C collet.  Slid some heat shrink sleeving on the valve stem and warmed it up to shrink it.  Fitted the collet perfectly and produced a lovely finish on the valve seat face!  The heat shrink sleeving is so thin and the collet has so much radial contact that it was a very rigid set up.

I used to be an engineer but I'm OK now!

Ian

Offline Laverda Dave

• SOHC Jedi
  • Health is wealth
    • View Profile
Re: For the machinists amongst us!
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2024, 04:02:55 PM »
That was a good workaround Ian. The lathe is the best tool I have ever bought, so useful. I used it this week to enlarge a centre hole in a 20mm stainless washer by 3mm. Turning it up in the lathe ensured it was circular and it fitted perfectly.
1976 Honda 400/4
1977 Rickman Honda CR750
1999 Honda VFR 800FX
1955 750 Dresda Triton
1978 Moto Morini 350 Sport
1978 Honda CB400/4 'Rat' bike
1982 Laverda 120 Jota

Offline Orcade-Ian

• SOHC Master
    • View Profile
    • Older Vehicle Web
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2024, 05:03:29 PM »
I agree Dave,