Author Topic: 500-4 scrapheap challenge  (Read 2528 times)

Offline haynes66

• SOHC Pro
    • View Profile
500-4 scrapheap challenge
« on: February 26, 2018, 07:44:53 PM »
dont know if this is going anywhere, but i'll give it a shot.  back in 2015 i bought the remains of a 500-4 for £90. it was just up the road and the seller even dropped it at my house!

it came with a full set of original pipes which i sold for £60 so it's effectively cost me 30 quid. everything was seized solid and the frame was rusted through in some areas but i thought it would be a fun school project as i work as a site manager at a residential behavioural school. some of the kids are keen to learn about mechanics so they started to help me dismantle it.  however, it really was too bad to work on, the kids rounding off or snapping the many rusted in bolts and screws, so i put it in the boiler house and gave them a worn out superdream which was mouldering behind my shed. this has proved to be a much better choice as they are enjoying taking it apart. 
so i'm attempting to strip the engine in my dinner breaks but it may well end up as scrap if it doesnt work out.  i hacksawed the frame away but the long mounting bolts are proving something of a challenge.   i suspect they may have to be drilled out >:(
honda firestorm
silverwing 600 scooter
honda britain project
phil read rep project
YGS1 80cc yamaha
LE Velocette

Offline Trigger

• Grogu
  • Engines built on reputation, not advertising.
    • View Profile
Re: 500-4 scrapheap challenge
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2018, 07:50:35 AM »
Cover it in snow foam, a quick wash down and that will be ready to go  ;D
The only way is drill  ;)

Offline haynes66

• SOHC Pro
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2018, 04:43:46 PM »
i like a bit of patina ;D
honda firestorm
silverwing 600 scooter
honda britain project
phil read rep project
YGS1 80cc yamaha
LE Velocette

Offline Trigger

• Grogu
  • Engines built on reputation, not advertising.