Author Topic: South London reliable mechanic to solve these issues?  (Read 631 times)

Offline alessandro

• View Profile
South London reliable mechanic to solve these issues?
« on: February 19, 2019, 12:09:51 PM »
Hi guys,
Does anyone know a good mechanic that can solve this issues on my cb550?
South London, zone 2/3 possibly. I live in Tulse Hill.

- battery goes flat all of a sudden after starter stops working. Regulator rectifier is faulty but I am not sure that this is the only reason

-overflow hose leaking gas from one carb bowl

-hose from airbox plenum leaking gas heavily

I am not an expert at all, there could be more problems behind..

Thanks for any tips!

Offline matthewmosse

• SOHC Master
    • View Profile
Re: South London reliable mechanic to solve these issues?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2019, 01:50:28 PM »
Easy things first, carb floats sticking, that can cause fuel overflow. Can be easy to remedy, tap side of affected carn lightly with wooden or plastic screwdriver handle. Use a hefty dose of redex petrol fuel treatment. Often this can sort the issue with minimal expense or effort. My cb500/4 did this every 6 months or so, especially if not used for a week. And these measures invariably worked. If they dont it does need further investigation. Also good to be in the habit of always turning fuel tap off when bikes not actually running. Regulators and rectifies normally separate units on these bikes unless upgraded to modern unit. Sort that out before chasing other potential issues. Not very unusual for battery to be faulty even if fairly new.
Got a 500/4 with rust and a sidecar and loadsa bits. nice and original and been round the clock

Offline eight0

• SOHC Expert
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2019, 02:18:29 PM »
Hi guys,
Does anyone know a good mechanic that can solve this issues on my cb550?
South London, zone 2/3 possibly. I live in Tulse Hill.