Author Topic: DSS Aftermarket head gaskets in set  (Read 508 times)

Offline paulbaker1954

• SOHC Pro
  • I'll just be 5 minutes dear!!
    • View Profile
DSS Aftermarket head gaskets in set
« on: July 20, 2019, 07:17:45 AM »
Having completed recent head gasket change using a DSS aftermarket set guess what still seeping oil due to poor o ring seal due to aftermarket head gasket thickness.

I must stress that this post relates to the head gaskets in their full gasket set, I have no experience of their “head gasket part only”

I used the DSS set as the picture on their web site showed an NE branded set, however when it arrived it was mounted on a white card with no branding. I emailed DSS to ask about branding and got no reply so (probably stupidly) went ahead and used it anyway with poor outcome.

Now to be fair to DSS I sent a pretty grumpy email this week and they have offered to ship me an OEM head gasket and o rings at no charge . They have also changed the image on their web site so it now does not show as NE branded.

The reason I post this is

1) To give credit to DSS for helping me out and for correcting their web site

2) I think it would be useful to keep a log somewhere of aftermarket gasket sets that are ok and don’t have this issue. After all it’s not a 10 minute job to change a head gasket.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2019, 08:34:15 AM by paulbaker1954 »
If you think there's light at the end of the tunnel it's usually another train !!

2016 Yamaha MT09 Tracer
1971 Honda CB500 Four K0

Offline hairygit

• SOHC Jedi
    • View Profile
Re: DSS Aftermarket head gaskets in set
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2019, 07:54:55 AM »
Well done to DSS for offering a genuine gasket and seals, and correcting the website.  The only real saving grace here is whilst it is frustrating and annoying to have to do it again, it could be MUCH worse, it could have been a 750 motor, and that would mean engine out again!