Author Topic: UV bonding  (Read 1055 times)

Offline paulbaker1954

• SOHC Pro
  • I'll just be 5 minutes dear!!
    • View Profile
UV bonding
« on: April 25, 2020, 08:20:09 AM »
Does anyone have any experience with UV resins for repairing plastic parts. I usually resort to reaching for the Superglue but seen some outrageous claims for this UV stuff. Seems to me that only really good for transparent materials as otherwise the UV will only cure the bond edges

Any other recommendations for high strength plastic repairs?
If you think there's light at the end of the tunnel it's usually another train !!

2016 Yamaha MT09 Tracer
1971 Honda CB500 Four K0

Offline AshimotoK0

• Grogu
  • Mad Scientist.... more power Igor ! ٩(̾๏̮̮̃̾๏̃̾)۶
    • View Profile
Re: UV bonding
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2020, 10:02:01 AM »
Funnily enough that UV stuff comes up as an advert on YouTube recently with all sorts of claims but I have no experience of it. Interested to see if anyone else on here has tried it out too.

I have been using this epoxy in the link  for years .. takes ages to cure but by mixing different fillers (i.e aluminium ultra fine power, ground ceramic and talc, coloured epoxy pigment etc you can do all sort of repairs. If you put enough filler it it forms a putty. You can vary the hardness by using more or less hardener (it's in the data sheet). Don't confuse this stuff with rapid epoxy in little tubes .. totally different.

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/potting-compounds/1991468/       Quite expensive but lasts for years

Datasheet : https://docs.rs-online.com/3543/0900766b81580057.pdf

There is also the superglue trick and baking soda .. The baking soda makes the adhesive cure instantly plus it fills gaps (wet item with superglue and sprinkle the baking soda on) But I still stick with the RS epoxy stuff myself.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2020, 10:08:02 AM by AshimotoK0 »