Author Topic: 1978 Honda CB550 Supersport - My first retro bike rolling restoration!  (Read 13743 times)

Offline woody928

• SOHC Associate
    • View Profile
Well it only seems appropriate to start a proper project thread here following my previous intro a month or so ago. I'm certainly going to have lots of questions for you all as I go! 

Last night I went and collected my 1978 Honda CB550 F1 Super Sport (I believe? Please correct me if this is wrong, I'm a total novice). Does anything look non standard or out of place? It looks like the exhaust is a 'Marshall system' which I'm assuming is a relatively period piece?

The bike has sat in storage for a number of years unused and therefore is in need of some serious TLC. It managed the 35 or so mile ride home however it was very clear that it is in need of some servicing and inspection.

The throttle response was erratic at times, on occasion there was almost a total lack of throttle response. The bike wouldn't climb past 70mph on the motorway and I was having to tinker with the fuel adjustor to lower the idle and keep the bike happy. By the time I got it home I noticed that what I'm assuming are the carb overflow pipes were dropping fuel down onto the ground, the exhaust was popping and banging on overrun so I'm assuming is running rich and on inspection one of the HT leads had dropped onto the manifold and nearly melted through.

I'll be honest and say that I've never worked on bikes before, however I'm mechanically minded and have a workshop manual so intend to crack on and learn as I go. I'm hoping to end up with a reliable bike that can be ridden and enjoyed, originality doesn't bother me as I intend to do some brat/cafe style mods to the bike later down the line with a view to improving performance and changing aesthetics however for now I just want to get it running well and see where I stand.

With the above in mind, I'd be grateful of your thoughts on my current 'to do list'

- Change Oil/Oil Filter