Author Topic: Carb Rebuild - to do myself or send away?  (Read 2408 times)

Offline waffey

• SOHC Member
    • View Profile
Carb Rebuild - to do myself or send away?
« on: November 22, 2020, 01:31:09 PM »
Hi,

I thought I might have a go at the carbs whilst its damp and it's a job I can do while waiting on other parts and more cash.

My first question is do I send them away as an easy option and get them back looking like new and who might do that?

Should I do it myself  (I've never done this before)? I think I can rebuild them and have started but already the first carb has the float pin stuck >:( I dont want to end up damaging them). The bike was sat from 1997 so I guessing lots of 'stuck' parts may await me.
and....not sure if I should strip them down to every single component or part strip before getting cleaned in a friends ultrasonic cleaner.

Thanks in advance again
Bikes:
Triumph Street Twin
Suzuki Address 110 Scooter
Suzuki TL1000s
BMW R1200GS LC
Honda CB400 F2 1977 (restoration underway)

Offline K2-K6

• Grogu
    • View Profile
Re: Carb Rebuild - to do myself or send away?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2020, 02:18:58 PM »
It's so very easy to snap those post supporting the float pins, and not really a competent repair other than another carb body.

For sending out,  Gerben (search forum for contact) is a very well regarded route to refurbishment on here.

If you want to get initial grime etc off them,  and may free up some stuck parts, you could try a steam wallpaper stripper with a nozzle fitted to dissolve any buildup.  It's gentle and generally removes without heavy scrubbing.

Offline Nurse Julie

• 1977 CB550/4 Mongrel Brat. 1974 UK 500/4 K1. Honda CD250u.
  • Grogu
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2020, 02:20:36 PM »