Author Topic: Honda SS125a  (Read 797 times)

Offline Fourplay

• View Profile
Honda SS125a
« on: May 27, 2021, 06:27:35 AM »
I've been gathering parts for my 1969 ss125a restoration and bought NOS front and rear hubs from DSS at a good price, as they were sold as imperfect.  I'm guessing these were sourced from Thailand where there are various sellers on eBay and I have bought stuff from them which despite being sealed in bags suffer from corrosion— I guess from the humidity over there.

On inspection the braking surface on the drums had some light rust overall with a patch on each of slightly deeper rust areas. I've cleaned them up with a scotchbrite pad and should be serviceable. I'm still keeping them in storage so want to prevent further rusting. What would be good to use whilst in storage, and will be easy to remove and won't compromise the braking surface once fitted. I'm thinking ACF50 or WD40 may soak into the surface?

They were also clear coated which looks fine. Polishing is quite crude.

I remember seeing lots of yellowing peeling clear coat on the Hondas of my youth so my question is would it be best to remove this clear coat and replace with a modern alternative. If so what's the best way to remove the coating without compromising the original polishing. And which modern clear coat would be best.

Thanks
Justin
2009 Ducati Monster M1100S
1979 Honda 400/4 F2
1969 Honda SS125A
1961 Triumph 5TA Speed Twin
1956 Triumph TR5 Trophy
1956 Triumph T20 Tiger Cub

Offline AshimotoK0

• Grogu
  • Mad Scientist.... more power Igor ! ٩(̾๏̮̮̃̾๏̃̾)۶
    • View Profile
Re: Honda SS125a
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2021, 07:45:54 AM »
Paint stripper like 'Paramose' ( methlene chloride type) will strip clear coat in seconds. Quickly blast away residue with soapy water...pressure washer or scrubbing brush
If you don't want to use nasty isocyanate 2-pack clear, Eastwood diamond clear gloss 1-pack works well but degrease thoroughly with acetone 1st.