Author Topic: 550 F2 started!  (Read 67728 times)

Offline McCabe-Thiele (Ted)

• Grogu
    • View Profile
Re: 550 F2 started!
« Reply #510 on: September 08, 2022, 11:37:13 AM »
I wondered tbh, surely the inertia of the motor would aid in th eselection through the mesh while the motor is running?
I went out at 3 this morning to strip the cases as it was niggling me so much it woke me up!

Stripped back to bear cases, reassembled and still the same so I'm leaving it and going to build the rest of it up complete. watching loads on the net it appears that others have a much free-er spinning assembly than I do and wondered if it was something to do with the assembly lube being really thick and making everthing drag somewhat? I've never used it before and tbh might not bother again as I really dont like it. Think I'l stick with engine oil next time.

I only used assembly lube on white metal bearings & the camshaft - elsewhere I used oil.
TBH it never crossed my mind to use assembly lube on gearbox parts - I can see that might explain your issue.
Honda CB500 K1 (new pit dug out ready)
Honda CB400 four super sport (first money pit)
Link to my full restoration http://www.sohc.co.uk/index.php/topic,23291.0.html
http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php/topic,151576.msg1731556.html#msg1731556

Offline Oddjob

• SOHC Jedi
    • View Profile
« Reply #511 on: September 08, 2022, 01:04:37 PM »
Plus you must wash out any new bearings you fit as Honda fill them with a protective coating of grease which over the years goes harder and harder. My new countershaft bearing only just rotates it's so stiff. Wash with petrol or similar.