Other Stuff > Tricks & Tips

For the machinists amongst us!

<< < (2/2)

Shetland Biker:
not got a clue about laithes, apart from they make things round haha,  also not got the space, or the finance to buy one haha

Johnny4428:

--- Quote from: Orcade-Ian on April 13, 2024, 12:51:45 PM ---Just a quick note to tell you of a workaround.  I needed to reface a very badly pitted exhaust valve from a Fairbanks Morse stationary engine - 7/16" diameter.  I didn't want to use a 3 jaw as I knew it would chatter (slightly worn jaws) but only had a 12mm 5C collet.  Slid some heat shrink sleeving on the valve stem and warmed it up to shrink it.  Fitted the collet perfectly and produced a lovely finish on the valve seat face!  The heat shrink sleeving is so thin and the collet has so much radial contact that it was a very rigid set up.

I used to be an engineer but I'm OK now!

Ian
Beginning to realise how much you are asked and do for other people Ian! You’re a victim of your own talents. Thanks very much for machining my old rusty piece of junk! O’ and thanks for the tea, again!😜

--- End quote ---

McCabe-Thiele (Ted):
Another skill I never learnt not helped by not being allowed to do metalwork at school.

I've well and truly missed that boat now - thank goodness for the likes of Max who used to be a member.

AshimotoK0:
Nice one Ian,