Author Topic: Small problem with my 400  (Read 4523 times)

Offline shaunc

• View Profile
Small problem with my 400
« on: September 18, 2010, 02:04:19 PM »
Just got this 400 4 at Christmas and took it to a motorcycle dealers just to check it out.  They said it was running a bit rich and adjusted something.  Anyway since it's come back the engine seems to stutter as you rev it.  Once the revs are on it really runs well.  It just makes it a little difficult starting off as I have to have a few revs on slip the clutch a bit more.  Also going round roundabouts when you shut the revs off and want to put them back on again. Any thoughts what it could be?  Is it a normal Honda 400 thing?  Wondered whether it was something I could tinker with but I'm a bit of a novice.

Also, does anybody have any thoughts on repairing the bike seat?  Mine has a split along it.  It seems to be an original one with studs etc.  I know I can get it replaced but I'd rather keep this original slightly well-worn one if possible.

Shaun
Current:
Honda 400/4 1975
Past:
Honda SS50 1976
Honda 250 G5 1975
Honda CB650
Honda 250 Superdream

http://yfrog.com/852w9j

Offline florence

• SOHC Master
    • View Profile
Re: Small problem with my 400
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2010, 09:13:05 AM »
I am sorry but I do not know what is wrong with your carbs but it sounds like the garage haven't got it quite right.  Have the carbs set up again and then balanced, I would suggest.

With regard to the saddle, I always used to mend mine with gaffer tape but eventually the glue would melt and it would end up sticking to my trousers.  Another option I have tried is sewing, use thick cotton and don't go too near to the edges or it will pull out.  When I was a rather foolish young man I thought it sensible to cover my saddle with sheepskin; shocking in the rain. 

Nowadays, I just live with the splits and tears, it all adds character.

Offline shaunc

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2010, 08:52:40 PM »