Author Topic: Carb issues  (Read 13388 times)

Offline M0WBY

• SOHC Associate
    • View Profile
Re: Carb issues
« Reply #30 on: October 23, 2012, 05:21:40 PM »
 :-[ The penny has dropped... I can't believe I was so dumb! It is obvious now you three have pointed it out!

Hangs head in shame!
« Last Edit: October 23, 2012, 05:24:11 PM by M0WBY »
John Willby
M0WBY
Slack jawed knuckle dragging Northamptonshire peasant labourers since c.1670

Offline tom400f

• SOHC Pro
    • View Profile
« Reply #31 on: October 23, 2012, 09:21:13 PM »
John

I (and I'll wager I speak for others) think your posts are great. Your enthusiasm shines through... I don't know if you've worked on these bikes much in the past but I'm no expert myself and we all have to start somewhere.

When I was 18 I bought a 400/4 unseen (well my brother had seen it at the dealers). It was only three years old but already had koni shocks (may be an improvement measure?), non-standard handlebar grips, the kickstart sometimes didn't engage, the clutch snagged and (as I discovered) the cam chain tensioner bolt was snapped off.

To pick up the bike I trained it to a then dingy Liverpool St station with the CB175 I was trading in lashed in the guards van (that was for free as well). Found my way to Acton and then rode the 400 back to Norfolk. Once I found out about the cam bolt I remonstrated with the dealer - to no avail of course. I then succeeded in snapping an easy-out in there. I reckoned I'd sell it and get a Suzuki GT380. As good as those bikes probably are that was a case of "shame on me". I missed a call to my advert and then thought sod it - I'll strip the bugger down.