Author Topic: Where is the Battery??  (Read 1156 times)

Offline ChrisOnABike

• View Profile
Where is the Battery??
« on: September 02, 2014, 04:23:34 AM »
This might not be 750 specific, but that's what I'm working on so I'm asking this here.

In the linked photo, where is the battery?  Looks like a stock tank so I doubt it's inside, and I don't see any other place for it.  The tail looks way too small to hold it in there.

Does the bike even need a battery?  I know most systems run off the battery and the charging system just keeps it topped off.  Does this system work differently?

Thanks

http://bihamoto.sk/content/images/articles/73.jpg

Online AshimotoK0

• Grogu
  • Mad Scientist.... more power Igor ! ٩(̾๏̮̮̃̾๏̃̾)۶
    • View Profile
Re: Where is the Battery??
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2014, 07:28:57 AM »
It may be that they have fitted a largish electrolytic capacitor, I did this when I was a student to my CB250K2. The 750 is 3-phase so less flickering of the lights at tick over probably. Incidently, I sussed a way of testing the regulator on the old CB twins 'pointless regulator'  a few weeks ago (CB250/350/450 etc). It's potted in epoxy but it's a Thyristor (SCR)  circuit which acts as a crowbar to voltages generated above the normal lead-acid charging voltage. The Brit bikes use a large Zener diode on a heatsink between the forks (Triumph) but it's not as elegant as the Honda (well Hitachi) solution as the Honda one has a very precise cut off at the set voltage (around 15v), which is not the case with a Zener diode.

Cheers ...AshD
“Alright friends, you have seen the heavy groups, now you will see morning maniac music. Believe me, yeah. It’s a new dawn.” Grace Slick, Woodstock '69 .. In the year of the Sandcast.

Offline royhall

• SOHC Jedi
  • Keep biking I'm not quite bankrupt yet
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2014, 09:42:31 AM »