Author Topic: Scum !  (Read 3445 times)

bike-pusher

Re: Scum !
« Reply #15 on: September 11, 2014, 12:59:13 PM »
This is true.  Me, I much prefer ones where pople have tried to recreate the old Honda racers of the 1960s, or else had a modern 'take' on the bike in question, and fitted modern brakes, wheels, suspension etc to sort of bring it up to date while retaining the aura of the original.

I think if I see one more Japanese bike with dropped bars and standard pegs, shorty mudguards (or none at all), wrapped pipes, pod air filters and a flyscreen I'll scream.

A couple of decades ago, I examined a 400 Four that had been turned into a sort of 1960s Hailwood Rep, and the bloke had done everything himself.  He'd made his own exhausts, bending the pipes by sticking them down the tube that normally held his wife's rotary clothes dryer in the garden, and heaving hard.  And he'd made his own electronic ignition out of used photocopier parts - he was a photocopier engineer by trade.  Utterly amazing what some people can do.

Online SteveD CB500K0

• Administrator
  • SOHC Jedi
  • Ride on the Steel Breeze...
    • View Profile
    • Steve's Blog
« Reply #16 on: September 11, 2014, 01:40:21 PM »

I think if I see one more Japanese bike with dropped bars and standard pegs, shorty mudguards (or none at all), wrapped pipes, pod air filters and a flyscreen I'll scream.

Best to stay away from www.sohc4.net then...
2022 Tiger Sport 660
1971 CB500K0

Offline tom400f

• SOHC Pro
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: September 11, 2014, 01:42:32 PM »
Anyway, back to the arson. If we think we have trouble getting parts what about those 1920/30's Brit bikes?

Insurance is only the money. I hope they catch them.
1978 CB400F2 Yellow
1995 VFR750FS Red
1997 VFR750FV Lapis Blue
2013 Yamaha FZ8 Grey

Bodd

« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2014, 03:15:27 PM »