Author Topic: Help me clear up some v5 cofusion please!  (Read 2926 times)

Offline Dunk_B

• View Profile
Help me clear up some v5 cofusion please!
« on: August 03, 2015, 10:09:03 PM »
OK i have bought a cb550 that didn't come with the v5 document or plate now i am not sure if it is a us import or not, i did a vin check on the bike before i got it and everything seemed fine and i got a receipt of sale and an mot on the frame number.
Is there a definitive way of checking it is a UK bike? if so my plan is as follows (please correct me if I'm wrong)

.v62 document to transfer bike to my name.... i guess if its an import i wont get this correct?

.VJMC age related document

.apply for age related plate

what else is needed to get the bike registered if it is an import? i'm hoping its a uk bike but just want to be clear of anything i will need to do to get this sorted will it need a vosa check the bike itself is very original.

Thanks in advance I'm new to this classic bike game and just want to get the bike nice and legal before i start working on it

Offline Bryanj

• Grogu
    • View Profile
Re: Help me clear up some v5 cofusion please!
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2015, 06:17:20 AM »
If it is an import and you don't have the correct customs documents you cannot get it registered. if you send me the frame number via a pm i will see if it is in the ID book i have also a picture of the vin plate if it has one

Offline royhall

• SOHC Jedi
  • Keep biking I'm not quite bankrupt yet
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2015, 07:56:57 AM »
Sorry to hijack the thread but it seemed close to applicable.

How do you register a 1966 bike (non Honda) that does not have a frame number or paperwork or registration plate (it is a UK bike though).

Was going to buy another frame with paperwork and make a ringer, then scrap the other frame (cut it up good).

Sorry constable, Bryanj made me do it.  ;D ;D ;D
Current bikes:
TriBsa CCM 350 Twin
Honda CB350F in Candy Bacchus Olive