Author Topic: 550/4 engine  (Read 9611 times)

MIKE550/4

550/4 engine
« on: July 09, 2008, 09:54:20 PM »
hi guys

as some of you may know been stripping a 550, all thats left now is basically engine and wheels

right i am doing this for the first time , i have no previous experience, the engine has done 21 k , its been sat since 83, previous owner bit of a collector, apparently started it every now and again, thats all he would tell me, according to dvla its not been on road since 83 ,

the engine , my question is what to do , it turns over , has compression, what sort of rebuild to go for, what sort of engine rebuild/gasket set is needed, can you guys recommend anyone in northants area for rebuild,anyone on the site who does it?, what sort of cost am i likely to incurr, or should i be brave and give it a go ( give me a verbal kick in for last statement if you wish  )

all help appreciated , while engine is getting built frame is to be stripped and powder coated

thanks

mike

Offline SteveD CB500K0

• Administrator
  • SOHC Jedi
  • Ride on the Steel Breeze...
    • View Profile
    • Steve's Blog
Re: 550/4 engine
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 09:54:16 AM »
I'm seeing double Mike.
2022 Tiger Sport 660
1971 CB500K0

MIKE550/4

« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2008, 10:09:18 AM »
think me and you have cornered the market  :)

Offline Spitfire

• SOHC Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2008, 11:00:53 AM »
Hi Mike,
         Why do you want to strip the engine, what sort of rebuild are you going for, quick and dirty just to get it on the road, or a full blown restoration.