Author Topic: Relationship between Timing & tappets  (Read 3043 times)

Offline Sprunghub

• SOHC Associate
    • View Profile
Relationship between Timing & tappets
« on: April 07, 2010, 11:08:09 AM »
Ok - I'm going to preface this with an embarrassment warning.  I'm not an engineer, I do my best, I get by, but a lot of the time it's luck.  I have '0' mechanical "instinct".

My CB750 F1, 33,000 miles runs like a 'clock'.....which is an unfortunate analogy, because it has developed a "tick", in the last few days or, more to the point a click.....click, click & a whirring sloosh ??? ::)

It sounds, as best I can tell "top end"....but it doesn't sound unduly 'tappety'.....& it is the click/ticking which has attracted my ear ( I mean lets face it, it's a pretty noisy engine even when "pefect") so the slooshing, may be normal "top end" noise.

The only thing I have done to what was an otherwise sweet running, non-ticking, bike, is add the Dyna S electronic ignition & time it to perfection with a strobe light.

The question is, if the timing was slightly out before the Dyna S was fitted & the tappets set to run on a slightly "out" timing, is the fitting of the perfectly adjusted ignition likely to have induced the tappets being 'out' ?

I have double checked the fitting of the Dyna S - nothing is "catching", it does speed up with engine revs but gets pretty much "lost" in the engine noise at higher revs, on the stand or rolling & is most obvious when at low revs, low speed or static.  It's there when the engine is warm or cold ? & doesn't seem to get better or worse.  Sometimes it seems imperceptible & then like a spanner in a tin can.   

The bike is running with good power, carbs have just been set/balanced ( since the ticking started ) & touch wood nothing horrible has happened.

Any suggestions.......
The current stable,
76, CB750 F1
83, FT500
89, VTR250
78, CB125T

Offline Bryanj

• Grogu
    • View Profile
Re: Relationship between Timing & tappets