Author Topic: strange starting problem  (Read 4256 times)

Offline kemp2368

• View Profile
strange starting problem
« on: June 26, 2010, 01:20:17 PM »
hi all,since i am still learning about this bike :-[ i get a strange problem now and again when i start her up
it is that when i press starter button she just turns over without engine firing, neutral light is on,almost like electrical fault
i then shift through the gears and then back to get neutral light back and she then is fine
i have read tha haynes ,and noticed there is a clutch fail safe
anynone got any ideas :)
cb650z,1979

Offline pae

• SOHC Expert
    • View Profile
    • Phil's CB650 pages
Re: strange starting problem
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2010, 09:38:26 PM »
Could be the infamous starter clutch, they are prone to fail. Do you hear anything, like a whirring or fast clicking, when it fails to spin the engine?

If I remember, the clutch failsafe means that the clutch needs to be pulled in the bike is in gear. There's a neutral interlock that stops you from turning the engine over with it in gear, and this can be over-ridden by pulling the clutch lever in. The neutral connection is behind the front sprocket cover, the clutch interlock is on the clutch lever.

Phil

Offline kemp2368

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2010, 09:52:23 PM »
hi there,thanks for the reply :)
there is no clicking or whirring,the engine still turns over as normal,also if i try to start it in gear the same thing happens if i pull the clutch in(engine turns over fine but does not fire)then i shift  through the gears then try it when neutral   light is back on and all is fine,i might try and have a look at the neutral connection when i get a mo

Graham
cb650z,1979

Offline notobikeparkingtax

• View Profile
    • No to bike parking Tax
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2010, 01:18:05 AM »
Do you normally leave the bike with the fuel tap turned off? Try leaving it in the ON or PRIME position and see if it starts easier.