Author Topic: The Dreded Rust  (Read 7091 times)

Offline colin400four

• SOHC Associate
    • View Profile
The Dreded Rust
« on: July 19, 2010, 06:50:55 PM »
Rust, It gets us all (our bikes that is ) in one shape or another. As I'm new to restoring, I have been investigating all sorts of rust removers.

I have had great results with dry acid salts made into a pickle, but I thought that I would investigte more.
There seems to be an endless aray of rust removers..... some dangerous, Hydrochloric Acid ( Brick Cleaner) some VERY dangerous, Sulphuric Acid ( drain cleaner or battery acid ) and others that are bio degradeable.........

This Leads me to good old vinegar.

I realise that this must be old hat to our more Knowledgeable Members but I was Browsing the internet and came across a site where large parts of a cars drive shaft were stripped of years of rust and gunk with nothing more than a 24hr soak in Tescos value Malt Vinegar................. Never I thought. Must be special effects or something.

So,
I had a go and was amazed with the results, Just soaked over night, then cleaned with a wire brush on a dremmel and finished with a small scotch brite dolly.

Check out the pics...................

Offline colin400four

• SOHC Associate
    • View Profile
Re: The Dreded Rust
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2010, 06:52:34 PM »
and these...........

Offline colin400four

• SOHC Associate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2010, 06:55:00 PM »
and there's more .......

Offline UK Pete

• SOHC Jedi
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2010, 07:50:31 PM »
WOW do you think it will de rust the inside of a tank?
Pete

Offline SteveD CB500K0

• Administrator
  • SOHC Jedi
  • Ride on the Steel Breeze...
    • View Profile
    • Steve's Blog
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2010, 08:32:56 PM »
Yes.

It is only an acid.

The trick is stopping the bare metal from rusting again!
2022 Tiger Sport 660
1971 CB500K0

Offline colin400four

• SOHC Associate
    • View Profile