Author Topic: Head scratching here - running very rich after float adjustment ! CB125s  (Read 429 times)

Offline MIJTEC

• View Profile
Hi everyone....can do with some advice please ! I am new to working on old bikes but have exhausted all ideas before reaching out to you :)

Picked up a 1975 cb125s recently and after some basic checks and service the bike started. Was running a bit rough but would start by the second kick. All great so far so I thought lets fine tune this further. I purchased a Float level tool to adjust the float height to spec but now its way off the mark when I start it. I'm getting some white smoke and the bike stalls after a minute as the spark plug is totally coked up....it clearly running too rich but I can't see how my minor tweak can make such a difference ? Is there something else I can check that I have missed ? Seems the float height is very sensitive and I cannot get it back to a running condition...or is it coincidently another issue as it was not touched for a few weeks.

Before my clever intervention I had done the following (and the bike was running).

New battery, points and clearance gap set. New spark plug (gap set), oil and air filter, new fuel lines, New petcock and importantly a thorough manual clean of the carb. It was a manual clean with lots of elbow grease and carb spray. I replaced the main jet. All small clearance holes are visible and I've double checked that too. It looks clean as a whistle ?