Author Topic: Another one in the midlands.  (Read 1762 times)

Offline Biggles

• View Profile
Another one in the midlands.
« on: June 01, 2011, 12:27:23 PM »
Hello all!

I'm a full time student and have been biking for 7years, I go by the name of Biggles in bike circles (Don't ask me why, I really don't remember)

I started on a cg125 and then onto a CX500 (which I loved), then a transalp 650 (which I didn't) then a cx500e THEN a cx650 and a cb125t (which was smoky but very good) THEN a cn250 (which was excellent but slightly scary handling wise).

I currently own two mz's (a dead one and this very much alive one) Hold your gafaws! I've been riding it every other day for well over a year, even in -12c and the snow its been utterly faultless throughout +very fun and quirksome bike.

and a gs500.

The mz is teriffic, the gs500, though nippy, efficient and modern is bloody awful. Well it isn't that bad, but its not enjoyable apart from in the best conditions when you can throw it around, on my commute I feel like I just might as well be driving the car. Mostly it just doesn't suit me.

This lead me to look for something with more character.. I'm told the cb400N and the like are a little faster and handle better, but they don't have the character. Modern just doesn't do it for me. So yesterday I picked up this!

1977 cb400/4 from a fellow only a few miles from myself!

Its been very rarely used in the past two decades but its in excellent condition cosmetically (I'll be trying to keep that up but its usually very low on my list of priorities, I have bikes to ride them)

I've only ridden it 20 miles but it made a big impression in that short distance!

A review I've read written in the 70's made me worry it might be uncomfortable. Compared to modern devices of torture masquerading as motorcycles, its a sofa. The riding position is perfect for me, seat height could be lower but the shocks are a little longer than stock.