Author Topic: CAM STAR Wheels  (Read 6657 times)

Offline Viper

• View Profile
CAM STAR Wheels
« on: November 23, 2012, 08:06:39 PM »
Hi Folks, Is there anyone who can refurbish the cam star rims?

Offline Yoshi823

• SOHC Pro
  • Biker to the bone...
    • View Profile
Re: CAM STAR Wheels
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2012, 10:33:19 PM »
Don't you mean Comstar wheels?...as standard fitment to the CB750F2/CB900FZ/CBX1000ZA?
Bikes...they're in the blood.
Yamaha R1 2001
Yamaha FZR1000R EXUP 1990
KTM 450 EXC RFS 2004
Honda XR400R 1997
Honda CB125T2 1980
Yamaha FJ1200 3XW 1991

Offline Viper

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2012, 11:18:07 AM »
Hi Yoshi823,

You are correct. I'm new to this classic game. I recall having these rims on my Honda CB250 Super Dream. I now have them on may recently purchased Phil Read Replica and was wondering if there is anyone out there that can refurbish them if required? Any advice would be most helpful.
Thanks for keeping me right regarding the comstars, the forum has proven beneficial already........I think I could become quite an expert before this project is finished....ha ha ha

Online K2-K6

• Grogu
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2012, 12:24:07 PM »
Hello Viper and welcome to the forum as Ii see you've just arrived.

There are some discussions on here already about more serious work on these wheels that will give you a good feel for what people think.

As for any significant work on them, well no one seems to be offering anything in particular so very sparse if non existant.

Also depends on what you need to do to them.......they do seem very tough if in good nick and also difficult to refurbish in any thorough way. Rims are normally of forged alloy usually with a very hard surface that lasts quite well (this is very high quality alloy that seems to resist corrosion well) but if they've been sanded/abraded it raises the risk of corrosion setting in.