Author Topic: Pull/Push throttle cable  (Read 973 times)

Offline Spanner1972

• SOHC Associate
  • Novice bike builder.
    • View Profile
Pull/Push throttle cable
« on: June 05, 2015, 08:09:54 AM »
Gents, im going to be asking alot of very amateurish questions on here as im totally new to biking and im trying to learn. I have a cb500 project going on and today is my day for scouring the net for spares. todays first question is What is the push part of the pull/push throttle set up?  Thanks.

Offline mickwinf

• SOHC Master
    • View Profile
Re: Pull/Push throttle cable
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2015, 08:34:07 AM »
not sure what you are asking, but one cable opens the carbs and the other closes them along with the return spring.
Love the 500 and 550 have a 500 called Lazarus under restoration

Offline Spanner1972

• SOHC Associate
  • Novice bike builder.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2015, 08:39:25 AM »
So i need them both to operate the throttle? Can you just use a spring to close the carbs? Sorry if these are stupid questions, just trying to learn.

Offline Bryanj

• Grogu
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2015, 11:00:26 AM »
There are no stupid questions if you haven't done it before, the push cable is to positively close the throttle against the air flow under the slides and a spring big enough to do it with no help will give you a right bicep like Popeyes

Offline matthewmosse

• SOHC Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2015, 01:11:12 PM »