Author Topic: idling problems on cb550, please help  (Read 8682 times)

Offline tom_b

• View Profile
idling problems on cb550, please help
« on: July 22, 2015, 09:58:00 PM »
Hi all
I am fairly new to this and I have got a 1977 cb550f2, when I was buying it I knew it will need some work to it.
So far I've rebuilt the carbs using the repair kits and the problem I have is that the bike does not idle when I close the choke,
the only thing I'm not 100% sure is the float heights and if they are correctly synced, anyway I've checked for any vacuum leaks and tried different positions with the air screws, but still no success.

also I've noticed smoke blowing out from the front of the exhausts, where it joins with the engine, not a lot but still was wondering does it have any effect on this situation? I suspect I'll need to change the gaskets.

So any help would be appreciated!
Thanks

Offline Ashdowner

• SOHC Expert
    • View Profile
Re: idling problems on cb550, please help
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2015, 06:07:24 AM »
You have lots of sympathy because you're not alone. Are they the P46 carbs? If you've rebuilt the carbs then we'll assume they're airtight but you need to get those gaskets sealed at the exhaust outlets before you go any further because that will affect it. After that, timing is critical as are float levels. Check valve clearances. Assume you have a petrol filter on to collect the rubbish. Does it have the original exhaust system and if not are the jets different from standard? Do all the plugs have the same colour? I put electronic ignition in my K3 and vacuum-synched the carbs which helped a little but I can't get it to tick over below 1400 without the clutch side sounding like someone dropped a bag of nuts into the gearbox.     
CB550K3, CB550K1, Yamaha Midnight Star, and CA77 in 2473 pieces (at the last count)

Offline tom_b

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2015, 01:01:57 PM »