Author Topic: Another "newbie" drops in....  (Read 2353 times)

uk_kev

Another "newbie" drops in....
« on: November 20, 2006, 06:20:11 PM »
Hey I thought I would just say hi, as I am a newbie here, I currently have a 1978 CB750-K7, that I bought in a very poor state, this is my first Honda, and I am in the process of a running resto, not a full blown show job, just a clean on the street type fix up.

So here she is.......

I am also restoring a 72 Bonnie as well, and you can see some of my other bike pictures both past and present here..

http://www.pbase.com/uk_kev/my_bikes&page=1

uk_kev

Re:Another "newbie" drops in....
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2006, 06:47:09 PM »
I forgot to add, the underside of this bike is in a bad way from lack of cleaning and salted London roads, so the centre stand is a real bitch to use, if you get her up on the stand, it is a mare to try to get her off again, is this a common problem?

When I bought her I was told she was rideable, so I took my gear on the train to London, ready to ride her home on a Sunday morning, well it was like this, there was no fluid in the forks, one fork had it's drain screw snapped off letting the fluid go onto the brake disk rotor, the front brake was useless due in part to the fork fluid and the fact that the brake arm assembly was all seized solid. I still rode her home though, although it was a challenge I would rather not repeat.
I have had to rebuild all the forks, and replace/rebuild the whole front brake assembly including master cylinder, the shocks have also been renewed as the originals had rusted out, and a new seat cover has been fitted. I have also fitted new coils and a complete points assembly, so she starts and runs like a swiss watch.
The motor could do with some cosmetic work, as the chrome is lifting from the rocker cover, and alternator cover, so she looks a little scruffy as you can see here....

jimshea

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2006, 08:46:36 AM »
Kev,
Welcome.