Author Topic: Hello from Kent - Newbie looking for a Lot of advice !!  (Read 2957 times)

Offline Early bay

• View Profile
Hello from Kent - Newbie looking for a Lot of advice !!
« on: May 10, 2016, 03:30:28 PM »
Hi all - Im Mike from Kent ...

By way of an intro, let me just start by saying I am basically new to bikes so treat me gently !

after having taken my bike test some 23 odd years ago but never actually having owned a bike, I am now approaching 50 and after a lifetime of classic cars my interest has switched to classic bikes. Japanese 70's bikes really attract me hence arriving here ...

So keen to hear advice from the experts ...

1. Would a cb750 (or maybe 550) be a good first classic bike ? the only bike Ive spent any time on was a Diversion 600 few years back so maybe not that different in terms of power ?

2. I will have a garden workshop for 'tinkering' - wouldnt mind doing some light resto on a bike but probably not up to a full rebuild

3. any pointers in terms of where to buy ? Looks like this market (like classic VW's) has been flooded with small dealers shipping in US 'barn finds' ?

4. Lastly anyone near Tunbridge Wells who I could maybe have a chat with ?

thanks for any advice given ..

Mike

Offline Nurse Julie

• 1977 CB550/4 Mongrel Brat. 1974 UK 500/4 K1. Honda CD250u.
  • Grogu
    • View Profile
Re: Hello from Kent - Newbie looking for a Lot of advice !!
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 04:47:01 PM »
Welcome to the forum Mike.
I'm sure the guys on here will give you advice on the best model for you to start with. I live in Lincolnshire now but come from Tunbridge Wells and all my family / friends are there or in Crowborough so I visit regularly. There are lots of forum members down your way, Ashford, Brighton, Sidcup etc who I'm sure would love to talk to you
Have fun
Julie
LINK TO MY EBAY PAGE. As many of you know already, I give 10% discount and do post at cost to forum members if you PM me direct.