Author Topic: CB550 First Build - Hondvarna?  (Read 15422 times)

Offline cinqmars2

• Learning on the job.
    • View Profile
CB550 First Build - Hondvarna?
« on: August 16, 2012, 02:48:35 PM »
Hello all, I wanted to start this thread for myself more than anything, housing a documentation of the project amidst a sea of experts is a no-brainer!

My name is Brad, I'm 23, my background is motocross and a bit of trials so I'm no stranger to bikes. The electrics, however, I'm finding a little daunting...

Six weeks ago, I underwent an operation on my shoulder and got a load of time off work, within two days I had purchased a 550 in bits on eBay for £400. Everything I was after was there, frame, engine, forks, swingarm, wheels and a few other bits and pieces, the rest would probably not have featured on the bike I want to build anyway.

As someone with a crosser background, I want to build a bike that is a little hat-tip to motocross bikes of the same era, namely the Husky 400. I'll audition a genuine Husqvarna tank, but I'm doubtful it will suit the stance of the bike. I'll be aiming for a low, brat(ish) bike so all Husky references will be in colour opposed to parts.

As this is my first build, and I'm not exactly raking it in, I hope to recondition as much as I can, even if it means buyig total junk and bringing it back to life by hand, time I have, money I do not.

701arvn

« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2012, 10:23:43 PM »
Sounds interesting Brad, a 550 with knobbies, this I got to see.

Andy

Offline cinqmars2

• Learning on the job.
    • View Profile
Re: CB550 First Build - Hondvarna - Getting Started
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 12:28:54 PM »
So I've managed to score some pretty neat deals lately. Firstly, I found a bench grinder in the street around Hoxton. It's a beaut and was just sitting out amongst a bust TV and a few pieces of knackered furniture! It was a b*tch to get home but you can't complain when you didn't spend a penny.