Author Topic: No SOHC Four Yet!  (Read 3825 times)

Offline briggsc

• View Profile
No SOHC Four Yet!
« on: January 18, 2015, 05:21:22 PM »
Hello all,

Been looking at your forum for some time now as I`m considering purchasing a 400 / 4 (F2 in Candy Antares preferably), I must say it seems very informative and well set up.

One question I would like to ask before 'taking the plunge' is are there any reputable companies / individuals out there in 'SOHC World' who undertake engine rebuild work should it be necessary?

I've been running Triumph Tridents (T160 & T150V) for the past 12 years and am only to aware of the hours old bikes can 'soak up' keeping them in good order.  I seem to have less time available now than ever, and while I'm happy to perform all servicing / minor repair tasks, splitting crankcases is more than I want to undertake nowadays, hence my question.

I've always admired the 400 / 4, and they seem well catered for regarding spares availability, so hopefully they make a practical proposition as a 'Classic' ride. 

I had a brand new 750 F1 (in yellow, although I really wanted red!) in 1977, it was absolutely reliable and I used it as my sole transport in all weathers, eventually trading it for a Suzuki GS750. 

I'm currently riding a Triumph Thruxton and  still have the T160 which I bought as a 'new / unregistered bike' 12 years ago with 9 miles on the clock where it had been pushed about at shows etc!

Thanks for any replies,

Regards,

Colin

Offline Nurse Julie

• 1977 CB550/4 Mongrel Brat. 1974 UK 500/4 K1. Honda CD250u.
  • Grogu
    • View Profile
Re: No SOHC Four Yet!
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2015, 05:40:08 PM »
Welcome Colin.
I have a 400/4 F2, Candy Antares Red actually (Not for Sale !!!). Haven't had to have engine apart yet but I feel even with my limited knowledge ( and the brilliant help and advice I get from this motley crew  ;D ;D ;D) it is a job that can easily be done by oneself. Good luck in finding yours
Regards
Julie